#### State Energy Program **Utah Incentives for Geothermal** Utah Geothermal Working Group Meeting **April 2008** Jason Berry, Manager State Energy Program

- Renewable Energy Tax Credit-Production Tax Credit
- Renewable Energy Sales Tax Exemption

### Utah Renewable Energy Tax Credits—Residential

- Residential Systems
  - 25% of reasonable costs of system up to \$2,000
    - \$2,000 cap is lifetime for residence
  - Eligible technologies (new in 2007 in red)
    - Active solar (thermal and PV)
    - Passive solar
    - Biomass (but not for heating; fuel or electricity only)
    - Direct-use geothermal
    - Geothermal heat-pump system
    - Wind
    - Hydro

## Utah Renewable Energy Tax Credits—Commercial

- Commercial systems Investment Credits
  - 10% of reasonable costs of system up to \$50,000
    - \$50,000 cap is lifetime for a single building, wind turbine, or agricultural water pump
  - Does not apply for wind, geothermal electricity, or biomass < 660 kW capacity</li>
  - Eligible technologies (new in red)
    - Active solar (thermal & PV)
    - Passive solar
    - Geothermal electricity
    - Direct-use geothermal
    - Geothermal heat-pump
    - Wind
    - Hydro
    - Biomass (including landfill or sewer methane)

## Commercial Renewable Energy Tax Credits

- Commercial Systems Production Tax Credits
  - Wind, geothermal electricity and biomass systems producing electricity
  - Must be > 660 kW capacity
  - Credit = 0.35 cents / kWh produced
    - Electricity can be sold or used
  - Credit may be claimed for four years after beginning operation

#### Utah Renewable Energy Tax Credits

- Production tax credit benefit scenario:
   Wind
  - Assume 200 MW capacity, 30% capacity factor
  - -8,760 hrs x .30 x 200,000 x \$0.0035 = \$1,839,600 per year
  - Over four years, \$7.36 million

### Utah Renewable Energy Tax Credits

- Production tax credit benefit scenario:
   Geothermal
  - Assume 25 MW capacity, 90% capacity factor
  - $-8,760 \text{ hrs } \times .90 \times 25,000 \times \$0.0035 = \$689,850 \text{ per year}$
  - Over four years, \$2.76 million

#### UGS' Role

- UGS is charged with certifying eligibility for tax credit applications
  - A role SEP has been fulfilling for years
- UGS explicitly given rulemaking authority for credits
  - Old Energy Office created rules for pre-2007 credits;
     set to expire October 2007
    - Rule overhaul in 2007; promulgation of new 2007 law-SB 223
- Tax credit rules rewritten in 2007
  - New language defines investment credits as percentage of "reasonable costs"
  - New PTC rules for certification

## Renewable Energy Sale Tax Exemption

- Utah Code 59-12-104
- Eligible Technologies: Solar Thermal Electric, PV, Landfill Biogas, Wind Biomass, Hydro, Geothermal, Anaerobic Digestion
- Requirements: 20kW nameplate for new build or =>1MW for expansions
- Expires 6/30/2009

## Renewable Energy Sale Tax Exemption

 Exempts the purchase or lease of equipment used to generate electricity for the state sales tax

All leases must be for at least seven years

•Eligible Equipment: generating equipment, monitoring systems, transmission, substation equipment, lighting, fencing, pipes, etc.

# Renewable Energy Sale Tax Exemption

 Non-eligible equipment: tools and other equipment used in the construction of a new facility, contracted services for construction and maintenance and equipment utilized after construction

 Scheduled to be repealed on June 30, 2009

